new want to learn

fmsmom

I am new to handguns. I am looking to buy my first handgun soon. I have experience with shotguns and rifles. I am a middle aged woman of medium build. I have hunted dove and quail since I was about 9 or 10. Pawnshops are the closest gun sales to me. The closest actual gun store is over 100 miles away. The pawnshop does have new weapons. I want to learn all I can so I am an informed consumer. I made a trip to the local pawn shop to look at weapons. The clerk was pushing a .380, I am interested in a 9mm. Now I'm more confused than ever because to someone who is uneducated they are very similar. Help I have looked online. Since I have nowhere close to try the different weapons I need honest advice. Help

I think you will end up being happier if you take the time to drive to a real gun store. You will be able to see what guns are comfortable and what ones aren't. If your gun store rents guns, even better to try them out.

I am new to handguns. I am looking to buy my first handgun soon. I have experience with shotguns and rifles. I am a middle aged woman of medium build. I have hunted dove and quail since I was about 9 or 10. Pawnshops are the closest gun sales to me. The closest actual gun store is over 100 miles away. The pawnshop does have new weapons. I want to learn all I can so I am an informed consumer. I made a trip to the local pawn shop to look at weapons. The clerk was pushing a .380, I am interested in a 9mm. Now I'm more confused than ever because to someone who is uneducated they are very similar. Help I have looked online. Since I have nowhere close to try the different weapons I need honest advice. Help

It sounds as if you also don't have a place close to you to rent any handguns and try them at a range. That is what most would recommend to you.

Here are some factors that I run through my head when selecting a firearm that I will carry with me. (is this what you are doing... or do you want one only at home?)