Conceal carry position

bond1973

Wondering where people carry on themselves and what they do with their firearm when driving. I am new to CC and have been carrying IWB at small of back because it's comfortable, I have a gut and unless I am bending at the waist, it stays pretty well concealed. Part of the problem could be my current carry (Ruger P95), ordering a holster for my Shield soon. Carrying small of back poses a problem when I get into my car. I usually unholster it and place it on my passenger seat or at my feet. I tried carrying IWB at about 4 o'clock today and while it allows me to keep it holstered... I find it otherwise uncomfortable. Just looking for input from others and more experienced.

Take Care

Sent from my A500 using USA Carry mobile app

other than that position being uncomfortable for you it is almost impossible for you to have quick access to you gun.

I carry a full-size Glock in either a Blackhawk Serpa, or an IWB Kholster at around 2:30-3:00. The seatbelt just goes over the holster, but I can still reach the firearm. I'm also 6"1 and 220lbs.

I have issue with small of the back carry for a couple of reasons: 1) if you fall you will injure your spine, and 2) it is uncomfortable if you sit down with anything that has a seat back.

Having a loose, loaded firearm in a car, either on the seat or on the floor is incredibly dangerous should you happen to get into a car accident. Now you have a heavy steel object flying around inside your car. If some other debris happens to hit the trigger, your accident just got more deadly. Find a spot on your person where it will stay.

BTW, welcome to the forum bond1973. We hope you enjoy your stay here.