Which vest / plate carrier?

AlphaKoncepts

For about a year I have been toying with the idea of getting some kind of vest for when I teach classes or go to the range. Some of the crap I see going on in public range sessions can be scary, and while I usually remove myself from these situations when I see them happen, never say never. Then you have Chris Kyle getting shot by his student and that attempted murder suicide, where the video became viral this week... really has me thinking now is the time to get something.

However I'm new to this type of kit so looking for recommendations. I'm thinking of some kind of plate carrier with molle so I can customize any accessories or pouches, if any. I kinda like the idea of this carrier... thoughts... Link Removed

What do you wear?

Take a look at the Shellback Tactical Banshee. I got the Banshee Elite 2.0 for the same price as the older Banshee when they introduced the new version. This was a limited time offer.

As for hard plates, I use AR500 Armor® Lightweight Level III+ 10x12 ALSC multi-curve with build-up coat and additional trauma pads. They are about 5.5 lbs each.

There is a recommendation by experts about adding soft body armor between the hard plates and the trauma pads or just simply replacing the trauma pads with soft body armor. The idea is that when hard plates fail, they tend to fracture and fragments enter the body. Soft body armor would catch those fragments.

Read this thread as well: AR500 armor.

Thanks for the tip on the plate carrier. There are so many brands and makers out there, that it is daunting. You can find plate carriers from $100-$1,000 for what, in pictures, looks to be nearly the same. Obviously they aren't the same!

CATI armor plates (level III / AR525), pretty good anti-spall, in testing over 100 rounds of different types on the target and no penetration.