Which Firearm to Buy for CCW?

smcrea

Hi,

I'm new to CCW and live in San Diego in the Peoples Republic of Kalifornia where you may have heard we made a step in the right direction with regards to CCW.

I've submitted my application and am now starting to research which firearm I should buy for a practical CCW (should I ever be approved). My current firearms are not really practical. (1911, 6" GP-100, 50AE DE)

I have a couple in mind but would like to ask you knowledgeable folks who actually carry what would you recommend and just as importantly WHY

Thanks for any advise!

I carry a Glock 19, and im also going to probably buy a M&P Shield soon. But what you decide to carry is a personal choice. If you ask ten different people you will get ten different answers. I have carried a 1911 in the past and it was ok, but I wanted something not quite so heavy. If you can, go to a local range and rent a few different guns and try them out to see what you like, and go from there.

Xds .45, 3.3" barrel. Highly concealable, nicely balanced, nice combo of intuitive safety features, match grade performance.

The Best Gun​
Would you walk up to a stranger on the street, ask them what the best flavor of ice cream is, and then eat only that flavor for years to come? No? I wish I had a dollar for every time someone has asked what the best gun is, what caliber is best, what they should carry ........ you get the idea. Even though practically nobody would accept the advice of a stranger on ice cream flavors, there seems to be a never ending stream of people willing to accept the advice of strangers on something that could someday decide whether they or one of their loved ones lives or dies. The uninitiated might look at this as just a matter of one choice being a simple personal preference and the other a decision based on finite attributes, but they'd be wrong. Choosing the right gun can be very much as personal as a flavor of ice cream.