WA non-resident CCW for Idaho

Stiofan

I just want to confirm this is the best way for me to go. If I get an Idaho CCW permit it's not recognized in Washington (I live in Post Falls, 5 miles from the border and spend a decent amount of time in Spokane) but Idaho does recognize Washington's CCW permits. So I'm thinking of getting the non-resident WA permit, which should allow me carry CCW in Washington, Idaho, Montana and Utah. I'll be out of luck in Oregon but won't be there much anyway, so most of the PNW is covered.

Cost of Wa and Idaho permits are about the same, both are shall issue and take up to 60 days. Anything else I need to know about?

PS, not interested in Utah permit.....:)

Yes I think you would be better served by this especially since you spend a lot more time in Spokane. I went and got mine and it only took 17 days to get it in the mail and cost me 60 bucks. Go for it!

Thanks Gunny, I applied yesterday. Since I'm a non resident, it'll take up to 60 days instead of the regular 30, I'm thinking/hoping maybe 4-5 weeks. But getting my Idaho permit doesn't allow me to carry in Washington, so it's kind of worthless to me. Both states are shall issue, so there should be no problems.

You should be good to go with a WA permit. Although some LEO don't know it, Idaho excepts all valid permits so you will not have any problems. We are still fairly friendly that way. I would diffinately go with the WA permit though. I have a Utah permit but carry heavily up in Idaho. No Problems!!!

Yes you can, however...

ID is a we honor all State. Keep in mind not all ID LEOs know or elect to follow the law. Also keep in mind that ID qualifies for a NICS exemption. So you have an added bene of getting ID.