Utah Universities and their anti-gun policies

tmaca

Many know about the secret U of Utah campus police memos that were revealed a couple years back, which showed that they had a policy of harassing people who carried guns on campus. That attitude is more widespread than just at the U in SLC. Due to clothing considerstions, I used an outside the belt locking Kydex holster covered by shirt tails at the Utah university where I'm a student. After 3 years, some student complained to the campus police that he'd seen that I had a gun. I was told if it happened again I'd be banned from the campus for 3 days under penalty of arrest for trespassing, and if it happened after that I'd be banned permanently. All to the tune of "we support your right to carry (which, with my permit, is a matter of state law) but other students have a right to feel safe. Safe from what, an ex-cop who went through an actual East coast city police academy, as opposed to some community college POST course, which is how police out here are trained and certified, and a combat experienced Army NCO trained and experienced as a handgun instructor? I had actually spent the money on a Glock 27 specifically for school when I first enrolled because of its concealment advantages over my normal full sized 1911, so it wasn't as if I just didn't care. After about a half hour of talking with the cops we decided that the best way to prevent accidentally revealing the gun would be to use a small of the back holster, which I think is the worst way to carry for reasons ranging from ease or draw to security of the weapon. But if that's what it was going to take, I'd do it. This was at 6PM on a Thursday, when there was no place in the city where I could buy the thing. The few places that were still open didn't carry them. At 10AM the next day, Friday, they came by again. The same student, who was no doubt making a point of looking for the gun, complained again and I was banned from the campus for 3 days. They were all