South Carolina to New York

Raganrsx

I will be taking my annual trip back home to upstate NY for hunting. I am a resident of SC. I own property and a home in NY ( I know that doesn't make me a resident ). I have my hunting rifle to take for just that. But I was curious to know if I could take my AR-15? ( not for hunting )I'm getting mixed answers as it pertains to laws.
I understand certain things might hinder me. IE: mag capacity, barrel length, stock. Etc. My AR has a retractable stock, 16" barrel, the norm that you see in my profile picture.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Jeremy

Well I'll tell ya man I'm really not sure best bet would be to ask in the ny specific forum. Being as I just returned from a trip to north jersey I say take whatever you like with you. Don't get pulled over make sure everything is either locked up in your trunk locked in a pickup bed with cover or toolbox and stay out of jersey! Good luck brother and have a safe trip!

I think but am not positive that the collapsing stock is a no no in NY Also watch for any mag over 10 rounds that is not pre-ban

Transport Firearms

FEDERAL LAW ON TRANSPORTATION OF FIREARMS

A provision of the federal law known as the Firearms Owners’ Protection Act, or FOPA, protects those who are transporting firearms for lawful purposes from local restrictions which would otherwise prohibit passage.

Under FOPA, notwithstanding any state or local law, a person is entitled to transport a firearm from any place where he or she may lawfully possess such firearm to any other place where he or she may lawfully possess it, if the firearm is unloaded and locked out of reach. In vehicles without a trunk, the unloaded firearm shall be in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console. Ammunition that is either locked out of reach in the trunk or in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console is also covered. FOPA also seems to provide for necessary stops, like gasoline and rest.