Should EMS be allowed to CC?

cavscout09

cavscout
Being new here I am wondering what people think about this. Should EMS be aloud to CC at work? It may seem to defeat the purpose of helping to some people. On the other hand EMS workers get into some less than desirable places. Just wondering what people think and why?

I don't see why not if they have a permit. Sometimes EMS gets called to fires or crime scenes where they are exposed to gunmen or crooks. If I was an EMT and got called to a shooting where the suspect was still barracaded or not aprehended I would certainly want to be able to defend myself.
I don't think defending your life is any conflict with the medical profession. If your out just to rob someone or shoot someone for entertainment it's a lot different than kill or be killed. I think everyone has a right to defend their life regardless of what profession they choose.

Everybody should be allowed to carry everywhere at all times.

As for EMS 'saving people and being armed': I seem to recall times in the news when hostile people, for whatever bizarre reason of their own, fired on firefighters or other emergency personnel without provocation.

People can often find themselves places they didn't originally intend to be doing things they'd prefer to not do. If the presumption was that all citizens might be armed, we'd have a much safer and more polite society.

I believe they should be allowed to carry.

There have been numerous incidents over the years of BG's shooting at Emergency responders, as noted previously.
Then there was New Orleans . . .

Yup. I don't think they should be restricted at all. PLUS, If they have to protect themselves at least they wont have to tell the BG that 'help is on the way'.

Being an EMT, I agree we should be aloud to carry. Being in a rural area very often the law is not very close. If things start to go sourer it would be nice to have some protection.:pleasantry: