Re: College Campus Carry

vanphillips

Re: College Campus Carry

I was asked, as a retired Professor, a question by a Purdue student about my thoughts on the Indiana firearms restriction on college campuses. After the exchange I asked Luke (and the student) if he would like me to open the issue for broader USA Carry discussion. Follow the question and the comments below.

ack8910 said:
I'm currently studying at Purdue. As a former professor, what are your thoughts on students, faculty, and staff carrying on a college campus?
ack8910 said:

ack8910:

Your question is not simple to distill into a two sentence reply.

1st - As you are most likely aware, college campuses tend to be populated by risk adverse employs. Purdue, with its strong Ag, Engineering and Science background, is better than most about anti-firearms attitudes. But I can tell you - as both an NRA and 4H shooting Instructor and back then a faculty sponsor of the Purdue Trap Team - I was hugely outnumbered even at PU.

2nd - I was a big supporter, early this year, of legislation to make firearms restrictions at the state level be "the law" everywhere in Indiana. IT PASSED and became law on July 1, 2011! That means that if you know the Indiana law about where you cannot carry a firearm - it will be the same wherever you travel within the State. To me that is a really big deal as I don't want to break some "local" law that I had no way of knowing. Illinois is a good example of different fractured firearms laws and in some places you can even have different laws on each of the four corners of an intersection!