Questions regarding purchase / transfer of handgun and taking it to a range


Ox1de

New member
Hi there,

I just recently purchased a handgun from my dad as my first handgun. The handgun has been licensed in his name.

My questions concerning this are first off what do I need to do to be legal to take this to a range ?

I am over 21 and reading the laws on the NRA website it says

"PURCHASE
Any individual or dealer selling a handgun is required to sell or transfer it at the place of business of a licensed dealer or county sheriff’s office. Transfers of all firearms (handguns, rifles and shotguns) by a licensed dealer are subject to an instant records check of the purchaser. The purchaser must sign a transfer application/record of sale for the purchase of a handgun. No transfer application/record is necessary to transfer a rifle or shotgun. There is a $2 fee for the instant check and a $3 firearm sale surcharge to cover telephone costs. Transfers of handguns between spouses, parent and child, grandparent and grandchild or between active law enforcement officers are exempt from the above requirements. "

Does this mean I do not have to transfer into my name to take it to a range ?



Also

"A handgun being transported in a vehicle without a license to carry must be unloaded and must be carried under one of the exceptions listed above under ‘Carry.’ Rifles and shotguns may be transported in a vehicle as long as they are unloaded.

While transporting a firearm without a license, it is up to the person carrying the firearm to demonstrate that one of the exceptions applies. A law enforcement officer may demand such evidence."


(2) when engaged in target shooting or while going to or from shooters’ places of assembly or target practice, provided the firearm is unloaded and the ammunition is carried in a separate container;




So from what I'm gathering here.. I don't need to have any type of permit or do anything to take my dads gun that I purchased to and from a shooting range as long as it's unloaded, in my trunk, and the ammo is separate from the gun ?


Please correct me if this is wrong.

thanks
 

Wow, sorry to hear that you have to go through all that. What state do you live in? This just reminds me why I live and will stay in my native state of Texas. We can have a loaded/locked/cocked firearm in the car as long as it's concealed. Also, we do not have to report or register any type if firearm through a private sale or if it has been passed down or giving as a gift. I feel for you my friend, sounds like the District of Coumbia your in.

I'm sorry I couldn't answer your question, I just had to chime in.
 
Here in MD when a handgun is sold between private parties, you either need to go to the State Police Barracks or an FFL dealer to have the transfer done. There is a 7 day waiting period for the paperwork to be cleared / approved by the Sate Police before you can take possession of the handgun. By reading what jrtson72 said above, Texas is much different. Therefore, I would suggest that you check with your local law enforcement to make sure that you are following their regulations / laws. We have all read that it is up to us as gun owners, it is our responsibility to know when, where and how to carry / transport our guns. Not knowing the law is no excuse and that could cost you in the long run. Especially if you violated a law and were convicted, you may never be able to legally own a gun again. I don't know everything and certainly don't want to come off that I do. I just purchased my first handgun in December 2011 and before I took it anywhere, I did so much research and contacted friends that were LEO's. It actually worked out that I bought my first handgun from an LEO.

God luck and good shooting.
 
Hi there,

I just recently purchased a handgun from my dad as my first handgun. The handgun has been licensed in his name.

This is a misunderstanding. There is no "licensing" of handguns in PA. Neither is there any registration of handguns.

As long as you and your father were both residents of PA at the time of the transfer, and that you are not a prohibited person, no paperwork or reporting of the sale is required. The state police do maintain a Record of Sale Database, but no registry. On the odd and rare occasion, when an officer discovers you are in possession of a handgun, he may attempt to "run the serial number" through this Record of Sale Database and discover there is no record, or that the only record is from back when your father bought it. He may further his mistakes by thinking this is some sort of registry and confiscate the firearm. This is all highly illegal, but possible, and has already happened. If you wish to take the extra steps, have an FFL such as your local gun store transfer the firearm into your name. Please understand that this is not a legal requirement.


My questions concerning this are first off what do I need to do to be legal to take this to a range ?

Two choices...

1) Transport consistent with
18 Pa.C.S. § 6106... 18 Pa.C.S. § 6106: Firearms not to be carried without a license ...basically unloaded and out of reach. Please read the section to be properly informed.

2) Apply for and receive your PA LTCF (License To Carry Firearms). Your LTCF will relieve you of a basketful of ridiculous restrictions on firearms laws and save you mountains of grief. It is $20, good for 5 years, and relatively easy to obtain.

I am over 21 and reading the laws on the NRA website it says

"PURCHASE
Any individual or dealer selling a handgun is required to sell or transfer it at the place of business of a licensed dealer or county sheriff’s office. Transfers of all firearms (handguns, rifles and shotguns) by a licensed dealer are subject to an instant records check of the purchaser. The purchaser must sign a transfer application/record of sale for the purchase of a handgun. No transfer application/record is necessary to transfer a rifle or shotgun. There is a $2 fee for the instant check and a $3 firearm sale surcharge to cover telephone costs. Transfers of handguns between spouses, parent and child, grandparent and grandchild or between active law enforcement officers are exempt from the above requirements. "

Does this mean I do not have to transfer into my name to take it to a range ?

Correct. You do not have to transfer it for any legal reason.

Also

"A handgun being transported in a vehicle without a license to carry must be unloaded and must be carried under one of the exceptions listed above under ‘Carry.’ Rifles and shotguns may be transported in a vehicle as long as they are unloaded.

While transporting a firearm without a license, it is up to the person carrying the firearm to demonstrate that one of the exceptions applies. A law enforcement officer may demand such evidence."


(2) when engaged in target shooting or while going to or from shooters’ places of assembly or target practice, provided the firearm is unloaded and the ammunition is carried in a separate container;




So from what I'm gathering here.. I don't need to have any type of permit or do anything to take my dads gun that I purchased to and from a shooting range as long as it's unloaded, in my trunk, and the ammo is separate from the gun ?


Please correct me if this is wrong.

This is not wrong, you are correct. Please understand that none of these ridiculous hoops are necessary if you have your PA LTCF.


thanks

My responses above, in red. Any questions?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
49,526
Messages
610,760
Members
74,962
Latest member
troydistro
Back
Top