Question about CHP and it's FEES.

overbyc1

New member
I just wanted to ask a question on here about what all every has had to do to get their paperwork filled out.

Columbus County, Whiteville, NC

I took the class. $50
Sheriff's Fee $80
Fingerprint Fee $10
Court records search $25, which I had to go do myself.
Mental health search $10, had to be mailed with a money order.

So, all and all, $175 for the process.

Is everyone else being subject to these additional fees for the courts and mental health searches? What is the $80 for?

Just wondering, as its still worth it to me. Now I just need to order a holster. The wait is on. She told me to expect 60-90 days.

Thanks! Andy
 

Prince William County Virginia

*I just noticed this was posted under NC and I'm in VA, but it doesn't hurt to know what goes on in other states, I guess :D

NRA Basic Pistol Safety Class-$99
Application for CHP-$50 which is broken down as follows:
-$10.00 to circuit court for the processing of an application or issuing of a permit
-$35.00 to local law enforcement agency to cover the cost of conducting an investigation
-$5.00 to the State Police to cover the cost associated with processing the application

So in total I spent $149 which could have been less because in VA we're allowed to take an online course (about $29) that would satisfy the requirement to apply for a CHP (I wasn't comfortable with that and chose the in-person course, so glad I did!).

I did mine by mail as opposed to going to the courthouse to submit my paperwork, they state 45 days, I received mine in 38.
 
Last edited:
I just wanted to ask a question on here about what all every has had to do to get their paperwork filled out.

Columbus County, Whiteville, NC

I took the class. $50
Sheriff's Fee $80
Fingerprint Fee $10
Court records search $25, which I had to go do myself.
Mental health search $10, had to be mailed with a money order.

So, all and all, $175 for the process.

Is everyone else being subject to these additional fees for the courts and mental health searches? What is the $80 for?

Just wondering, as its still worth it to me. Now I just need to order a holster. The wait is on. She told me to expect 60-90 days.

Thanks! Andy



It's not as bad in PA. $20 Fee for 5 years. And I forget if I had to pay the $2 (now $5) fee for the Brady Bill Instant Background Check. And a 45 day wait. That's it.

As to worth: only the individual can make that choice.

As to what for:

Governments are Evil and Corrupt. It is what it is.

In their defense: They want to discourage people from making a Serious decision in too casual a fashion.
 
Hi, Andy

First of all ,WOW . Is that for a Lifetime ?.

Now on to your question,here in Clayton Co. Georgia I payed only $35,but it went up to 60 or 65 the very next week after I applied for mine and is for 5yrs.

I think if I was in your shoes I would look for a new place live. :laugh:

Glenn
 
I just wanted to ask a question on here about what all every has had to do to get their paperwork filled out.

Columbus County, Whiteville, NC

I took the class. $50
Sheriff's Fee $80
Fingerprint Fee $10
Court records search $25, which I had to go do myself.
Mental health search $10, had to be mailed with a money order.

So, all and all, $175 for the process.

Is everyone else being subject to these additional fees for the courts and mental health searches? What is the $80 for?

Just wondering, as its still worth it to me. Now I just need to order a holster. The wait is on. She told me to expect 60-90 days.

Thanks! Andy

It is as I have always said. Sooner or later the politicians are going to wake up and go after a large porition of the pie of CCW fees. Everyone in the process will be having their hands out ffor their slice. Gray Ryder
 
I just wanted to ask a question on here about what all every has had to do to get their paperwork filled out.

Columbus County, Whiteville, NC

I took the class. $50
Sheriff's Fee $80
Fingerprint Fee $10
Court records search $25, which I had to go do myself.
Mental health search $10, had to be mailed with a money order.

So, all and all, $175 for the process.

Is everyone else being subject to these additional fees for the courts and mental health searches? What is the $80 for?

Just wondering, as its still worth it to me. Now I just need to order a holster. The wait is on. She told me to expect 60-90 days.

Thanks! Andy

Guilford County. Got stuck with all the above, except the Court record bit and the Mental health bit. I believe what I shelled out to be according to the State Law on the matter.

Sounds like your County got into a little creative extra cash collection effort to me.

GG
 
'...in VA we're allowed to take an online course (about $29) that would satisfy the requirement to apply for a CHP (I wasn't comfortable with that and chose the in-person course, so glad I did!).
(My bolding)

Glad to hear it! In good conscience, I just can't embrace CHP qualifications which don't require some sort of practical demonstration of handgun safety awareness and weapon proficiency. Not to say though that military/paramilitary service and some of the other exemptions aren't adequate. They are, and should be continued. But these online courses our state recognizes is just crazy.
 
Go With an Out of State Permit. NC violates your privacy and constitutional rights by forcing you to release your private medical records. If there is something in the records the state does not like you are Denied! Without any charges or a trial!
NC is in violation of the 2nd, 5th, and 14th Amendments by forcing citizens to release their medical records and then using that illegally obtained information to deny a person their 2nd Amendment right without Due Process of the Law.
Utah does not require a mental health background check. They check to see if the applicant has been adjudicated as mentally unfit by the legal system. In regards to the 2nd Amendment Utah honors and upholds our constitution, unlike North Carolina. That's why I have a Utah permit and I urge other NC residents to boycott NC and consider getting an out of state permit from a state that respects a citizens constitutional rights.
 
Thats crazy what county are you that you had to get your own records. Here in Mecklenburg it was 10 for prints and 80 for the permit which includes there mental health and substance abuse search and background search. Everything was covered in the 90 bucks. I thought Mecklenburg was tough with the wait and costs.
 
Here in Mecklenburg it just cost me $50 for the class, $80.00 for the permit and $10.00 for the finger prints. I got to say Mecklenburg did all the leg work for the mental health serch and cort records.
 
Here in Mecklenburg it just cost me $50 for the class, $80.00 for the permit and $10.00 for the finger prints. I got to say Mecklenburg did all the leg work for the mental health serch and cort records.

Where did you go for the class I had to go outside Charlotte to get under 100 for a class . I paid 60 in China Grove . And did you just go down there and apply I just got mine on monday took 63 days and would have been longer if I didnt call and check on it. I had been waiting for something in the mail or whatever and I called just to see if they could tell me if I was approved or not and she said it was there so I ran downtown and got it I couldnt believe it was there.
 
Where did you go for the class I had to go outside Charlotte to get under 100 for a class . I paid 60 in China Grove . And did you just go down there and apply I just got mine on monday took 63 days and would have been longer if I didnt call and check on it. I had been waiting for something in the mail or whatever and I called just to see if they could tell me if I was approved or not and she said it was there so I ran downtown and got it I couldnt believe it was there.

I'm curious about this as well. I live in uptown and haven't been able to find a class under $100 locally. What is this info about being able to get a permit from another state? How does that even work?

Nevermind, it looks like Utah upped their rules so I would need an NC permit anyway:


Senate Bill 36 was signed by the Governor on 3/23/11 and Non Residents must meet additional requirements. This new law becomes effective for first time non resident applicants May 10, 2011 and for renewal of non resident permits 1/1/2012. Those requirements are:
53-5-704.
(4) (a) In addition to meeting the other qualifications for the issuance of a concealed firearm permit
under this section, a nonresident applicant who resides in a state that recognizes the validity of the
Utah permit or has reciprocity with Utah's concealed firearm permit law shall:
(i) hold a current concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit issued by the appropriate
permitting authority of the nonresident applicant's state of residency; and
(ii) submit a photocopy or electronic copy of the nonresident applicant's current
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
49,527
Messages
610,761
Members
74,965
Latest member
Roosince1911
Back
Top