Non US Citizen in NH

I have been a permanent legal resident of New Hampshire for the last two years. I am a citizen of the UK living here on a ‘Green Card’. I have shot for many years in competition and have a full class 1 firearm permit for the UK. It was very hard to get as gun legislation in the UK is completely messed up. I hated having to sell my gun collection as I couldn’t import it with me but the move was the right thing to do, as I love living in NH.

Having not shot for two years due to bad information (being told I couldn’t as I was not a citizen) I am now trying to get back into my sport but I am being given a lot of conflicting advise ranging from forget it to no problem.

Can anyone tell me?

Do I have to have a hunting license to fit into the loophole of gun ownership as I’m not a US citizen yet or is my ‘more than 90 days permanent residency’ sufficient?

The Police department has not processed my CCW application in the 14 days. Is this normal or are they likely to tell me to forget it until I’m a citizen.

Many thanks.

That's a good question, I don't know the answer but looked at SC Hunting License and it says you must show residence of 180 days to get Hunting License.

never had that problem ..

I can understand your pain , when all is said and done the Police Chief has the last say . I have had mine for over 30 yrs. and it never took more then 2 to 3 wks . Having a hunting license and belonging to NRA and gun club won't hurt . But you being a somewhat newbee in the country and the crap thats going on in the world don't help you @ all . But don't give up , the best come to those how wait !!!!!

CCW permit and hunting license