MN CCW Non-Resident Permit

JDWest

Hello, I understand I can apply for a non-resident permit with proof of attendance to a training class. My question is this: I am a NRA Certified Instructor so does that qualify me in regard to the training class? This may be a question I need to ask a MN County Sheriff but thought someone here may know the answer.

JDWest......Just curious as to what discipline are you certified to train by the NRA? That maybe would determine the answer to your question. I'd guess that a pistol training course would be the one most qualified IF they would honor that. Just a thought. I believe MN sheriff can charge up to $100 for the permit and you have to be there in person at any county sheriff office.

Irish bird dog

I am qualified for First Steps, Basic Pistol, RSO and marksmanship programs. I am going to call a MN Sheriff and ask the question. Second question is: Does NRA Basic Pistol class qualify a person for the permit?

Irish bird dog

I am qualified for First Steps, Basic Pistol, RSO and marksmanship programs. I am going to call a MN Sheriff and ask the question. Second question is: Does NRA Basic Pistol class qualify a person for the permit?

Can't answer your question but I do know MN requires firing live rounds as part of the permit classification (see below) but so does the NRA Basic Pistol class therefore it may qualify...however, they may require you to take their course as seems to be indicated in info below from what I think is a private training company not state of MN. Best to ask the state of MN.

Info following is from a website (not official state of MN data)

Minnesota Carry Permit Shooting Qualification

You must use a handgun capable of firing five shots without reloading. Single-action revolvers (cowboy-style) are discouraged due to reloading time. Tiny "pocket pistols" (.22, .25 and .32s) are discouraged because they are difficult to shoot accurately.