Mississippi OC put on hold!

CrowJS

A Hinds County issued an injunction late Friday stopping HB 2 because it was "too vague". So, if you know anyone who was going to OC Monday, let them know that they can't yet.There is a hearing scheduled July 8. Still not sure how he will be able to find our state Constitution unconstitutional!

Am I missing something or perhaps REALLY need to get cable... I got the one update on my phone saying the same thing regarding open carry. Do you know if anyone has made a decision, or am I not digging deep enough? I'm new to this state. :ph34r:

We are on hold until Friday, when Judge Kidd issues his decision. If he issues an injunction, it will go to the MS Supreme Court. Pretty confident that they will overturn it and HB 2 will be implemented. Still haven't figured out how the judge thought the dictionary defination was too vague. Interesting that the judge, DA, state senators, and the sheriff represent the 8th most dangerous city in the US.

As far as I know, it's still up in the air. Currently kind of up to the local LEOs. The law didn't change, the legislature merely worded it where there was no doubt what it meant. So can a divorce judge issue a legal injunction against a law that is 40 years old? Especially when it is an anti-gun liberal desperate to do his little part for gun control?

I hope you're right. The governor's initial statement made me feel that he not only expected the challenge, he welcomed it. I don't particularly share his confidence. I'm looking at a photo of the State Supreme Court. I know Ann Lamar from decades ago, have no idea what her mind is now. If Chief Justice Waller is a liberal like his father, no doubt which way he will go. I guess the main thing is I just don't trust lawyers.

I know several people who have been OC since the first, and have yet to be approached. (Union County) I haven't, but I don't get out much anyway.