Maybe I'm a rocket scientist and just don't know it.

shadow106

Shadow106
I'm gonna keep this brief and to the point. I haven't been able to find my 3/16 thin wall socket, which I use for switching front sights on some Glocks. I go to Boise to buy a new one. I go to reputable gun-shops that I do business with. All but one tell me that they are not aware that such a tool exists. In a couple of them, we actually broke down some Gen 3's so they could see the hex screw in the slide.

In another, one that has on-site gun-smithing, I was told that two of their guys had the tool since they are "Glock Armorers", but it was not for sale to the public. I suggested they look at the internet where the tool is all over the place.

Finally, when I asked about the tool in the last shop, I was promptly informed by the owner that all Glock sights are STAKED, and that no such tool is needed nor exists. That ticked me off, so I suggested he break down the G23 he was wearing and take a look at the sight mount. He said he was tired of smart ass know-it-all customers and told me to just leave the store. I was really floored, told him I would leave, but he might want to check out the mount after I was gone, 'cause he was WRONG.

I'm not a mouthy kid and I do not present myself as a know-it-all. In fact, except for the "Glock armorers" and the last shop owner, the exchanges were cordial and pleasant. The guys I dealt with actually seemed pleased with the information about the tool, since they all carry Hi Viz and Truglo sights, among others. After nearly 50 years of hand-gunning, and 40+ in law enforcement, I've learned a few things, and I'm STILL learning. I HATE it when that background is belittled, or I'm treated like I have dementia by some bubble gum jerk. End of rant. I thank you.