Looking for CCW class, just the legal part

helios

Hi All, I recently moved to SC from RI and I am a NRA certified firearms instructor. I'm told that as a result I need only take the legal portion of the CCW class to get a permit. Searching with Google, I can only find full classes. Can someone point me to a legal only qualifying class? Thanks...

No, NRA instructors and certain other persons are exempt from all portions of the training except that which relates to the laws of South Carolina.

From Section 23-31-210:

(4) "Proof of training" means an original document or certified copy of the document supplied by an applicant that certifies that he is either:

(a) a person who, within three years before filing an application, successfully has completed a basic or advanced handgun education course offered by a state, county, or municipal law enforcement agency or a nationally recognized organization that promotes gun safety. This education course must include, but is not limited to:

(i) information on the statutory and case law of this State relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force;

(ii) information on handgun use and safety;

(iii) information on the proper storage practice for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that reduces the possibility of accidental injury to a child;

(iv) the actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor, provided that a minimum of twenty-five rounds must be fired;

(v) properly securing a firearm in a holster;

(vi) "cocked and locked" carrying of a firearm;

(vii) how to respond to a person who attempts to take your firearm from your holster; and

(viii) deescalation techniques and strategies.

(b) a person who demonstrates any of the following must comply with the provisions of subitem (a)(i) only: