LEOSA (HR 218) vs. some NC issue

rvhighway

Hi guys,

I'm new to NC and I need a little clue in on a NC-specific issue. I understand most of the LEOSA issues related to CCW in the state. However, there is the issue of a "gun purchase" permit or NC CCW required in this state to buy a pistol.

My understanding is that, to purchas a pistol in NC, a NC buyer needs to either buy a purchase permit through the sheriff or have a NC CCW. In my case, I already have the LEOSA permit that's good in this state, so there is no need to get a NC CCW through the sheriff's office. However, will that present a problem if I try to buy a pistol? In other words, is my LEOSA CCW permit sufficient for puchasing a firearm in NC?

Just for those who might not know what a LEOSA permit is, it is a CCW for retired law enforcement officers. It allows retired (and current) officers to carry concealed in all 50 states. Having read HR 218, it expempts LEOSA qualified people from many state-specific restirctions on concealed carry, other than those restrictions (State established - not local established) specifically allowed in the statute (i.e., prohibition on other person's personal property, and prohibitions on State or local government property, installation, building, base, or park) if the state chose to have those restrictions.

HR 218 is clear on the carry restrictions, those carry restrictions that don't apply to LEOSA permit holders and that HR 218 supercedes state laws. However it appears to me that it doesn't speak to the purchase permit requirement in NC.

That's what has led to my quandry. I'd rather not get a NC CCW, or pay money for a sherrif to allow me to buy a gun, if I don't have to. Again, does my valid LEOSA CCW, from an outside NC agency but good in NC, qualify for the CCW requirement of NC to buy a gun?

TIA!