K40

daggunit

I bought a new k40 ! Guide rod chewed up first time to range . Sent to kahr . Got it back shot approximately 40 rounds guide rod chewed up again. Is ir me or what? Anybody else have this problem?

Have never seen this happen. Only Kahr I have experience with is a CM9, and nothing like this.
When you say "chewed up", it sounds like the guide rod is plastic or something soft. If it's steel I don't see how that could happen.
Just a thought: Did you maybe clean the gun before shooting it and leave the guide rod and spring dry? No lube?

I have no experience with that brand, I've just seen relatives and some friends carrying them. My guns are generally limited to Ruger, S&W, Glock and Rock River. The company was founded by the Reverend Sung Nyung Moon's son. Good operating reports.

Thanks for comments. Yes its a steel guide rod and I did clean and lube prior to firing. I found another comment about this on Kahr forum. Im waiting now to hear back from Kahr.

Hi ben ! I also have a variety of weapons but this is my first Kahr. I thought I did enough research , but I guess I didn't. I hope I get it figured out I really like size and feel of K40 .

daggunit, sorry you are having problems with your k40 I have owned 3 of them myself. 1 stainless and 2 black and still own one black. Have put numerous rounds downrange with no problems with any of them. Please let us know what khar has to say about the problem you are having.

I bought a new k40 ! Guide rod chewed up first time to range . Sent to kahr . Got it back shot approximately 40 rounds guide rod chewed up again. Is ir me or what? Anybody else have this problem?
Was wondering, does the guide rod pass outside the slide when it's pulled back? If so, is it pulling hard or sticking? See if the hole, to the front that it passes thurough, has a burr or is out of round. That's the only thing I could think of, looking at the diagram.
http://www.kahr.com/PDF/kahrmanual.pdf