Helping the wife shoot.

redout67

I bought a Beretta px4 Storm sub compact for myself. I'm going to be buying the Springfield armory XD40 service next month. Anyways my wife wants the PX4 Storm as her daily but shes having a hard time pulling the slide back. I'm wondering if anyone could help me find a replacement recoil spring so she can have an easier time loading the gun. frankly I don't want her walking around with one in the chamber at all times. She can barely pull the slide back and it takes her several attempts and isn't very practical if she needs to use it. I'm thinking a spring with 5 pounds less pulling force then what comes stock. All help would be great.

I'm not new to guns or shooting but I'm a noob when it comes to finding parts.

Thanks for help in advanced

I have a lady friend with the same problem on the 9mm xd. I found a slide racker (?) Not sure the exact name. It's a small "handle" that mounts on the slide, gives them something to grab onto. Heres one:
SLIDE RACKER | Brownells
You would have to find one for your particular firearm. Putting a 5 pound lighter recoil spring in would batter the gun to pieces, and launch your brass into orbit, or the guys face next you at the range.

I bought a Beretta px4 Storm sub compact for myself. I'm going to be buying the Springfield armory XD40 service next month. Anyways my wife wants the PX4 Storm as her daily but shes having a hard time pulling the slide back. I'm wondering if anyone could help me find a replacement recoil spring so she can have an easier time loading the gun. frankly I don't want her walking around with one in the chamber at all times. She can barely pull the slide back and it takes her several attempts and isn't very practical if she needs to use it. I'm thinking a spring with 5 pounds less pulling force then what comes stock. All help would be great.

This is an operator problem and not an equipment problem. She needs proper training!