Gun for Spouse & Hello...

K-Products.US

Just Joe
Hello:
Ok, I'm now a retired technology teacher with a wonderful wife of 38 years.

I'm a Vietnam Vet and realize both I and my wife are vulnerable despite an alarm security system.

I have been out of the gun world for awhile... but now looking into a handgun for both of us.

My issue is that my wife is very petite (4'9") with very small delicate hands.

She has NEVER fired a gun.... We have gone to gun stores and they are helpful but tries to sell us what they have in stock.

It may not be the best for her.... so what are your opinions and recommendations.

I would like it to be a revolver with both light and laser if possible. A semi I'm thinking would be too uncontrolled for each round.

I never liked plastic but.... Price is a concern... retired teachers, well are limited.... Teaching although noble is not high paying.

Thanks.... looking forward to your responses.

an Auto Alternative

Hang, glad to have you here! I had a friend who was a writer who had a very frail wife who liked semi-autos but was too weak to pull the slide back to chamber the first round. They solved it by going to the Beretta Bobcat, a .22 that can load it's first shot by means of a tip up barrel - no strength required for this auto except trigger pull and magazine insertion.

Currently one is listed on GunsAmerica.com for under $200 (NOT my listing!) so I thought you might like the alternative. My writer friend's wife likes the fact that she can practice with it and isn't scared of the recoil. Also, it was her opinion that revolvers overall had too heavy of a trigger pull.

You know what they say - better a gun that you'll carry and actually use than a big monster that stays in the nightstand. I hope this helps you and your wife and again, Welcome!

Welcome HangItFire from Floriduh..

I know you are on a budget, but I'd ask around to see if there are any NRA instructors close to you.