Flying to/from NJ (NJ resident)

TIMinNJ

First and foremost, I am a resident of NJ. I legally own a pistol. Secondly, I moved to NJ from PA where I legally purchased my pistol and, therefore, do not have a FID card from local PD here in Jersey (I am applying for it today). I fully expect to get my FID card but in the meantime, can I fly in/out of Newark (EWR) with my pistol as per TSA regs since NJ is a legal place for me to possess a handgun? Do I need to have my FID card in order to do this? I checked with the State Police and I am certain that I am not legally required to have an FID card to simply possess the gun since it was obtained legally out of state (I just can't buy ammo in NJ). I am not asking whether or not it is a good idea to have an FID card only the legalities of flying without one. Please don't answer this thread by saying "Don't do it." I want to explore real legal facts, not the anti-gun sentiment in this state.

I have family in PA and WI and travel there frequently. I also have a UT ccw permit which is good in both states so I would like to take my pistol when traveling. I know in NJ the attitude of a lot of LEOs is to arrest anyone with a gun (legal or not) and let the courts sort it out later. I actually heard that comment straight from the mouth of a retired LEO I recently met. I know I am a good guy and don't want to break any laws but I also don't want to be hasseled un-necessarily when I am within the law and my rights. And don't say it...I know I should move out of NJ but it is where my job is right now so it is something I have to deal with, at least for a little while...

Thanks in advance for any insight!