first muzzleloader

Arh75

I am going to try out deer hunting this season with something I have never done before. I would like some opinions and or ideas on what would be a good beginners gun. Now I am very experienced in rifles and shotguns and handguns but never muzzleloaders. I have looked at a few but this is where your opinions are needed. Thank you in advance!

I've always wanted to get a muzzleloader, mostly for the historical aspect. Maybe a Kentucky longrifle. Every once in a while I see a guy at the county range with a modern, hunting MLer. It's pretty cool. Let us know what you get and how you like it.

I do not understand the interest in modern muzzle loaders.

Synthetic pelletized propellant, jacketed, sabot, GPS guided-laser targeted projectiles, and modern ignition..oh it loads from the front!

-Doc

I do not understand the interest in modern muzzle loaders.

Synthetic pelletized propellant, jacketed, sabot, GPS guided-laser targeted projectiles, and modern ignition..oh it loads from the front!

-Doc

I guess for some people it gives them another hunting season.

A Little Muzzle Loader Information

I am going to try out deer hunting this season with something I have never done before. I would like some opinions and or ideas on what would be a good beginners gun. Now I am very experienced in rifles and shotguns and handguns but never muzzleloaders. I have looked at a few but this is where your opinions are needed. Thank you in advance!

Arh75,

I have deer hunted with only muzzle loaders and a bow in Ohio since 1971. Talk about a beginner, I bought my first muzzle loader at the Back Bone Mountain Gun shop some place in Maryland on my way to Seneca Rocks West Virginia where I was working construction at the time.