Diamond Back 9mm

JohnLM

I need a little information please. I was thinking of adding a small pocket pistol to my collection. I was at my local shop and I notice a customer buying a small pocket pistol. I asked what it was and was told it was a Diamond Back 9mm. The gun did look good so I went home to get some info on the net. What some was saying is that its another Kel Tec product. I have had some bad experience from a Kel Tec 380 and I vowed never to buy another Kel Tec product. My question for the forum is has any one tried this Diamond Back 9mm and what do you think of it. I like the look and feel of the gun but like they say "I don't want to buy a pig in the poke".:confused:

I was going to say that Diamond Back Firearms was founded by former Kel-Tec employees, but decided to double-check to see if I was remembering that right. Turns out I was. Link Removed where the writer gets that issue out of the way right from the top:

As I handled this tiny 9mm I noticed that it disassembled in the same fashion as Glocks do. The next thing I noticed was that it was made in Cocoa, FL. There is another very popular firearms manufacture by the name of Kel-Tec in the same city; matter of fact, they are just down the road (half mile). With a little more research I discovered that Diamondback was founded by a couple of former Kel-Tec employees.

Lots of pictures at that review. As I was looking at them, they struck me as more similar to a Glock design than Kel-Tec. The writer said they break down just like a Glock.

While an 11 oz. 9mm is quite a design feat, I can't fathom how severe the felt recoil would be. At 17 oz. my Kel-Tec PF9 is no fun at all to shoot. Then again, I didn't buy it for fun, I bought it for a self defense weapon, and if I ever have to fire it in that role and I come out alive, I'm not going to give the bruised part of my hand a second thought. Still, that 11 oz'er must be pretty darn snappy.

Let us know what you think if you end up getting one.

Blues