Convince to carry

advw

I am a veteran that recently got out of the service after 4 years, I now have my concealed pistol license for the state of Michigan. I live at home for the time being and my parents and girlfriend do not like me carrying my firearm. So i gave up carrying for the time being.

My question is, how the heck do I explain to them that carrying is okay? They seem to think that it will go off in my holster or just make matters worse. What can I say to them??

Well, as far as your parents are concened. It is their house so you should abide by their rules. But the minute I stepped out of the house I would be carrying. As for the girlfriend, I would simply tell her that as a concealed carrier, no one would see me carrying and thus not "make things worse". And you are carrying to protect her and you when you are together. That kind of responsibility is not taken lightly and if it doesn't actually change minds, usually it makes others more tolerant of you EXERCISING YOUR RIGHT TO SELF DEFENSE. When all else fails TELL her you ARE GOING TO CARRY, even if it makes her uncomfortable. If she still is stubborn about it....LATER!!!!!!!!

:pleasantry:

take them shooting if they will go. If not, ask them why they have a fire extinguisher, smoke detector, or anything else that makes them more comfortable just in case. Explain how bad things happen to good people and you refuse to be a victim of random violence and you took your oath to defend this country seriously. If the GF doesn't get it, get another GF! Don't compromise your safety to appease anyone. FTW
Thank you for your service!