Concealed Carry Purse

I am new to concealed carry, and was wondering what the best method of personal carry would be for a "larger" woman?

I've got one by Gun Tote'n Mamas that is good-looking and functional. My Glock 19 fits perfectly with room for a spare mag. They have quite a few styles available, in a number of colors. Mine is a light brown leather, and a friend of mine has the same style in a black and white pattern. The Shooter's shop in town has them for about $70 each and they are well made and sturdy.

Cat Carroll, your size doesn't matter much. Your clothing choices might. There are a lot of great options for women. I would urge you to keep the purse carry to a "last resort" since it is better than nothing at all. There is a great discussion about carrying at Cornered Cat | If you have to fight, fight like a cornered cat.. A great place to look for women's holsters is flashbang holsters. There is a whole line of them called the "Pin-Up Collection". Avoid holsters that collapse and don't allow one hand reholstering. You tend to sweep yourself with the muzzle and frankly, pointing a firearm at your own hand or arm while reholstering is a BAD idea.

I live in the Country, and was a Deputy for 15 years and a Police Chief for 2 more. Where I live we never have a Purse Snatch or a Car Jacking. I think this is more of a city thing.
On body carry would be the best option, however purse carry is FAR better than leaving the handgun at home because you cannot carry it on your body. A cross body carry strap would be something to consider. Look at the features of the purse. Some should have the carry strap armored up with a cable for anti theft security.

Bob R
Big Creek Kydex Speed Loader Carriers
ICORE MO2908