Colt Lightweight Commander 04860XSE

bluper

What type of safety features does the Colt Lightweight Commander 04860XSE provide. Will the hammer fall from the half cock position when the trigger is pulled like the 80 series?
And is it safe to carry a round in the chamber with the hammer down?
I'm new to the 1911s, but i would like to purchase a good 4 1/4 barrel with the gov frame, that is safe to carry concealed.

Why are you so concerned with the half-cock notch? No 1911 should be carried from half-cock, as it is NOT a "half-cock"! The notch you speak of is there simply for safety. It is designed to catch the sear on that notch if the full-cock notch slips, therefore not firing the weapon. You WILL (I repeat WILL) eventually screw up your hammer/sear engagement surface if you carry it on the first notch. Some 1911s don't even have a secondary notch just for this reason- people screwing up sears by thinking that it is a half cock notch when it isn't.

Any real 1911 is going to operate the same way- when the safety is down the hammer will fall when the trigger is depressed. The safety will not engage while the hammer is down by design as it is not needed- once the hammer is down, it is resting on your firing pin. Hitting the hammer at this point (dropping the gun) can cause it to fire a chambered round regardless of the safety system. Series 80, Swartz, etc.. I would not trust these dinky "excuses" for a drop safety to someone else's life if an ND were to occur! And as already stated in your other thread, cocking that hammer back would be a real chore in a real-life, quick draw situation. You're better off carrying a 1911 on an empty chamber and practicing "Israeli draw"... Its a lot easier to grab the slide and rack it with your entire hand in an emergency, than it is trying to cock a tiny little hammer with a giant beavertail in the way.

I'd say look into some of the Paras that are double action, but they get spotty reviews...