CC Question

Beez

My son lives in Delaware and does't have a cc permit in his home state. If he gets a Virginia nonresident permit can he conceal carry in Delaware?

This seems to be answered on deccw.com

http://deccw.com/index.php?topic=1542.0

VA might not issue if you don't have a home state CCW but Florida will.

Lastly make sure you check the statutes and get the AG's opinion in writing if the thread above is accurate.

My son lives in Delaware and does't have a cc permit in his home state. If he gets a Virginia nonresident permit can he conceal carry in Delaware?

Yes, I am very late to the discussion, but the answer is very easy. I am a resident of Florida but I also have a domicile in Delaware. I have a resident FL license and I can carry concealed in DE. Your son, however, as a Delaware resident, MUST have a Delaware permit in order to carry concealed in Delaware.

Let me repeat that: If you are a resident of Delaware, the only way you can carry concealed in Delaware is to get a Delaware permit to carry concealed. The portion of the Delaware code that applies is this:
"Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary, the State of Delaware shall give full faith and credit and shall otherwise honor and give full force and effect to all licenses/permits issued to the citizens of other states where those issuing states also give full faith and credit and otherwise honor the licenses issued by the State of Delaware pursuant to this section and where those licenses/permits are issued by authority pursuant to state law and which afford a reasonably similar degree of protection as is provided by licensure in Delaware."

The key is that Delaware has reciprocity for concealed carry permits for RESIDENTS of other states with a permit to carry from THAT state. If you are not a resident of another state, with a resident permit for that state, you don't earn the right to reciprocity.