Casings: aluminum vs. brass vs. steel

nca_mm

Aside from the obvious of brass being the best to reload, what are the pros & cons of each? Go!

Aluminum nor steel can be reloaded. Neither removes heat from the chamber as efficiently as brass. Steel also fails to remove debris as effectively as softer materials. Depending on on what your chamber and/or receiver are made of steel may damage your firearm.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

Steel Ammo

I have been cycling steel ammo through my glock for a couple months now. I'm just really looking for ammo my glock can't handle, but i cant say i have run into to many problems with jamming or FF/FE. Accuracy is where i see the biggest difference. They are cheap rounds, so i dont expect to be able to shoot a fly with it. However, if your practicing on a budget, you can't really beat $9.87 for 50 rounds of 9mm at Wally World.

Brass has the ability to expand when the powder burns to make the hot gas to expell the bullet. That expansion makes a better seal to prevent hot gases from passing around the case back at the shooter. That (inconsistent pressure) may be one of the reasons they are not as consistent for target shooting, but that's just my guess,

Interesting.... as a Dealer.... most steel I have found is from Russia under the Wolf brand. However, to have something to shoot rather than having nothing at all, I will try the steel and they are at least available for a decent price. Another factor to consider how the steel is treated - poly coating or lacquer coating? The poly is best in my opinion as compared to the lacquer. Heat is treated better with poly than lacquer.