Best option for a first time buyer/low-mid budget?

Rice8644

Hey everyone...I gave up my prints yesterday and got my permit today. I don't have a pistol yet, but I plan on buying one soon. Any advice on a first time purchase? I have up to $500 to spend. I also have really big hands (6'7" 280). Also, I am brand new to this sight and look forward to some interesting debate/convo!

Hey everyone...I gave up my prints yesterday and got my permit today. I don't have a pistol yet, but I plan on buying one soon. Any advice on a first time purchase? I have up to $500 to spend. I also have really big hands (6'7" 280). Also, I am brand new to this sight and look forward to some interesting debate/convo!
1st, Welcome to the forum from Tampa Bay, Floriduh...

You have lots of options at the $500 mark..

You did not indicate your present level of experience with handguns, so it's a little hard to give you the answer you are looking for..

If you have little exposure to handguns previously, I would highly recommend finding an NRA instructor in your area that has multiple guns at his disposal.. Your other option is to find a gun range that has several guns to choose from..
Since you have your permit, I will assume you will be looking to carry, so I would suggest a compact gun, it may be a little small for your hands, but will be much better to carry around all the time and easier to conceal..
Then you have to narrow down whether you want a revolver (goes bang every time/less bullet capacity) or a semi-automatic (more complicated/higher bullet capacity)...
Guns are a very individual thing, so being exposed and handling as many as possible (since you are on a limited budget) will help you make a better decision..
Gun shows are another great way to handle a bunch of guns and get an idea of what feels good to YOU..