Anyone know anything about muzzleloading?

Shooter Mike

I'm traveling across the country with the family (started in Hawaii, where I was last stationed, and on my way to Virginia), and we stopped in Henderson, Nevada for a few days. Their Sportsman Warehouse is going out of business and since I have always had an interest in muzzleloading, I picked up a Knight Extreme Muzzleloader in Realtree Cammo, at what I thought was a good price - it was marked down to $179.

Anyone here point me to a good resource of information on where I can learn to shoot this? I'd like to find something that will walk me through all the steps of muzzleloading this particular gun.

Good Morning Mike

I started shooting muzzel loaders in 1971 and that is all my wife and I hunt with.

I'm not sure where to send you for information except there are alot of good books out there a coupe I have always used for reference are:

Lyman's Black Powder Handbook and The Complete Black Poder Handbook by Sam Fadala.

I can give you some basics.

I expect you bought the .50 cal. the next two most important thing you need is bullets and powder.

I make my own bullets and like black powder, but that isn't the direction to send the modern day muzzle loader hunter.

Jim Shockey's Gold FFG would be a good choice for you, some like pellets but there isn't enought varibles to adjust your powder to make your rifle shoot as accurate as you want.

You need a good powder measure.

Some examples FFG w/370 grain bullet out of a 32" barrel:

75 grs. = 1370 FPS, 1540 ft/lbs muzzel energy, and 749ft/lbs @ 100 yds.
80 grs. = 1402 FPS, 1613 ft/lbs muzzel energy, and 790ft/lbs @ 100 yds.
85 grs. = 1435 FPS, 1689 ft/lbs muzzel energy, and 814ft/lbs @ 100 yds.
75 grs. = 1467 FPS, 1766 ft/lbs muzzel energy, and 837ft/lbs @ 100 yds.

You need good bullets, Power belt 348 grain copper w/ arrow tip would be a good choice.

Make sure you have cleaned and checked your rifle.

Start with the light load.