Ammo

jennyrebekah

I am a new recipient of a CPL. I am currently saving money for a 9mm handgun. I have very little experience firing a weapon and I want to start buying ammo so that when I get my gun I can practice allot before I start carrying my firearm. So my knowledge of ammunition, the types and the best for my purposes is pretty low. What are the differences in different types of bullets and what brands do you recommend? Also, can you make any recommendations of places to buy them at the best price?

Jennifer

I use ball ammo (fmj) for practice. It's cheaper to shoot larger volumes.

I use hollow points (jhp) for self defense. I run at least a box of the same hollow points through my firearm to make sure they function reliably.

I have no preference for brands for either. Ball ammo I go find the cheapest. That usually will be a bulk buy on sale (1000 rounds at a time).

Sent from my D6616 using USA Carry mobile app

There is no need to purchase ammo before purchasing a handgun. Before purchasing a handgun, go to a gun range that rents them and try different handguns in different calibers. The range will sell you the necessary ammo as well. Take a Gun Safety or Introduction Into Handguns course at that range. Practice with rental guns a few times, i.e., a few visits at the range. The money you spend on the rental guns is well worth it. Not shooting a gun before buying it is like not test driving a car before buying it. The gun range may not have the handgun you ultimately want, but similar ones that you can compare. As far as handgun ammunition goes, you only need to know:

• full metal jacket (FMJ) - common practice round
  • jacketed hollow-point (JHP) - common self defense round
The cheapest offers are typically online, if your state permits purchasing ammunition online. ammoseek.com is a good search engine.