Ak74

crazycathed

I just acquired an AK74 and it seems to not extract every so often. is this normal? I have been shooting .223 from it. was going to try 5.56X45 and see if it makes a difference. the barrel is chrome lined so cleaning is easy and stays squeaky. shot 60 rounds and jammed 4 times. maybe normal? this is my first "military" rifle so I'm new to the hiccups that may accompany them.

????

Are you sure it is an AK74? They are chambered in 5.45X39, not .223 or 5.56. AK-74 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
( I have a Saiga "AK" chambered in .223.)
Confirm you are using the correct ammo. (I don't think .223 will even fit in a 5.45x39 chamber.)

What type of extraction failure are you having. Stovepipe? Stuck cartridge?. Double feed?

I just acquired an AK74 and it seems to not extract every so often. is this normal? I have been shooting .223 from it. was going to try 5.56X45 and see if it makes a difference. the barrel is chrome lined so cleaning is easy and stays squeaky. shot 60 rounds and jammed 4 times. maybe normal? this is my first "military" rifle so I'm new to the hiccups that may accompany them.
I don't know of any "AK74" rifles chambered for the NATO 5.56 (or .223) round. I have a WASR2 and a Tantal, neither is actually an 'AK74' and both are chambered for the 5.45 round; they both work very well. There are AK-like rifles chambered for .223; Saiga rifles are chambered for both 5.45 and 5.56, but they don't advertise them as 'AK74' rifles.

Could you identify just which rifle you have and who the manufacturer is?
Are you sure it is an AK74? They are chambered in 5.45X39, not .223 or 5.56. AK-74 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
( I have a Saiga "AK" chambered in .223.)
Confirm you are using the correct ammo. (I don't think .223 will even fit in a 5.45x39 chamber.)

What type of extraction failure are you having. Stovepipe? Stuck cartridge?. Double feed?