A little confused

GunMetal21

So I am a resident of AZ, currently serving active duty in the Army in Kansas. I will be getting my AZ CCL soon. I'm a little confused about the Kansas law and how it applies to me. Am I considered a resident of Kansas which would mean I have to apply for a Kansas permit in order to CC? Or does my Active duty status mean I'm not a Kansas resident and I can still carry Conceal with just my AZ license?

So I am a resident of AZ, currently serving active duty in the Army in Kansas. I will be getting my AZ CCL soon. I'm a little confused about the Kansas law and how it applies to me. Am I considered a resident of Kansas which would mean I have to apply for a Kansas permit in order to CC? Or does my Active duty status mean I'm not a Kansas resident and I can still carry Conceal with just my AZ license?
Kansas resident. It goes by where you live. Your Arizona residence is designed for tax purposes only, and you get to keep it that way due to your military status. Kansas might recognize your AZ license even though you no longer live in AZ, but somebody from Kansas would have to answer that question.

You do not "lose" your state of residence when you join the service unless/until you register to vote or get a drivers license in the new state... and those are up to you whether to do them or not.... You can vote absentee, and wait till you get back to your home state to renew your drivers license. When I was ative duty (may have changed since then) your expired drivers license was still honored by every state if you were active duty stationed somewhere else, (show military ID with DL) they just very much preferred you renew it as soon as you got back to your home state...(and they (cops) usually suggested going home for a visit to do just that)