Out of stater applying for CCW

MerkXRTurbo

Hey guys, I am a Washington resident and CCW holder, and I'd like to expand my range, so to speak, into Oregon. My dad did it, so I know it's possible (although he did have to wait a while). What abilitated him to obtain one, was the fact that he worked in Oregon, as do I.

From what I can find out, you go to a Sheriff's office and apply there as an out of stater, and it's up to the Sheriff whether or not you can have one. Multnomah County is the Sheriff's office that is local to me (i.e. Liberalville, USA), so I was thinking that my odds were better if I applied in a more rural county, if possible. Can one do this, or does it have to be a more local county to them? Any tips on what I can do to increase my odds?

You can apply to any county in Oregon.

And I agree, more rural ones do tend to be more gun-friendly. Try east of the Cascades if you get a chance.

I cant say specifically which are the most friendly to non-res; sorry

Shall vs may issue...

Few weeks ago while visiting in Portland area I tried to apply for an out of state CW permit. I was told by the Sheriff's Office Clerk they process applications only from the adjacent states. Being from People's Republic of California I would have to apply somewhere in the Southern portions of the Oregon. Driving by Eugene I stopped at the Indoor Gun Range and inquired about this issue. The guy, introduced himself as a CCW Instructor and told me they do not issue permits to anyone out of state. The only way one could get a permit, if he had a business in Oregon. In any case, it did not make any sense at all in both cases. The law said "Shall", but it turns out to be "May". What gives?

It's "shall" for Oregon residents, and "may" (pronounced: "probably not") for residents of WA, ID, NV, and CA. Oregon will not issue for any other state.

If you really want one, drive up to Grant County. Their sheriff recently announced that he supports non-residents applying for CHLs.