Carrying Firearms across states

lasersights

LaserSights
If I have a permit in Colorado. It is honored in most states I travel through on a trip to PA where we have friends and property.

But Ohio does not honor the permit and Illinois does not allow.

Is it illegal for me to carry my pistol(s) with me when I make this trip?

Or do I just have to lock the gun in the trunk or something else in the non permit and not allowed states?

I am interested in the reply to this... my husband and are are driving from Ohio to Colorado with a return trip through Chicago. I know that Colorado doesn't accept Ohio's concealed carry permit and there is the issue with Illinois. We're not sure how to transport our guns in Colorado and Illinois.

I am new to this organization and to on-line forums, discussions, blogs, etc. If my contribution is inappropriate for the site, I apologize.

Best thing to do is to get a good car safe, and lock it up when you have to. Better safe than sorry, as they say.

(IANAL, YMMV, etc)

18 USC 926a:

Link Removed

Notwithstanding any other provision of any law or any rule or regulation of a State or any political subdivision thereof, any person who is not otherwise prohibited by this chapter from transporting, shipping, or receiving a firearm shall be entitled to transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm to any other place where he may lawfully possess and carry such firearm if, during such transportation the firearm is unloaded, and neither the firearm nor any ammunition being transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such transporting vehicle: Provided, That in the case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver’s compartment the firearm or ammunition shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console.