Glasses

bill0358

I wear perscription glasses 24/7. I basically can't see the end of my arm with out them on. They have plastic lenses and I'm not really worried about them breaking. I am a little concerned that they might get scratched or damaged in some way. They did cost a nice piece of change. I started shooting in December of last year and go to the range about once a week. I was wondering if I need to invest in some kind of perscription shooter's glasses or something to wear over my regular glasses to protect them?

Any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

I wore glasses for many years (laser surgery worked great).

Usually I had more money in the frames and the checkup then in the lenses themselves.

I don't see how the frames could get damaged except by the hearing protection strap (depending on style).

Lenses might get scratched / melted if a hot case ejected onto them.

Just make sure you clean them properly after shooting. Wash the residue off with lens cleaning solution and don't "grind it in" by wiping while dry or with paper towel product.

Depending on the style of frames you use you might find some "safety glasses" big enough to wear over them.

Worst case is you get the full size "goggles" that look like a scuba mask and are used in high school chemistry class.

I'm pretty nearsighted, but I've found that contact lenses have worked pretty well and then I can use off the rack Silencio wraparound shooting glasses. Gun shows often have merchants selling shooting glasses that can comfortably fit over prescription glasses. I have one pair that I've been carrying around in the car for at least 15 years.

There are lots of prescription shooting glasses available, just google "prescription safety glasses". Start at about $60 and up.