Taurus Millennium PT111 Pro - 9mm

fdegree

I am extremely new to guns, especially hand guns, so my observations and terminology may need a lot of work. Anyway, I recently bought the Taurus Millennium PT111 Pro - 9mm.

It is DA/SA, but it appears to me the only time it will act as DA is when there is a misfire. Every time the slide goes back, the internal hammer is cocked. Therefore, carrying with a round in the chamber results in this gun being SA while in the holster. As a result of this, I need to engage the safety.

I would like to have it DA on the first shot, SA after the first. I've tried loading the first round (snap caps) into the chamber while pulling back on the trigger at the same time...still ends up as SA.

Am I overlooking something?
Is there a way around this?
Am I worrying over nothing?

I tend to over analyze things sometimes, so correct any bad thoughts I may have.

Last edited:
The only way to get a SA/DA to fire DA on the first shot is to decock it, but your gun does not have a decocker, so I'm inclined to say no, there is not a way to do what you want to do. If I recall, that gun has a fairly long trigger pull which is basically the safety. I can't remember if it has a manual safety. I remember the guy at the gun show explaining that it would only function in DA mode after a misfire.

The only way to get a SA/DA to fire DA on the first shot is to decock it, but your gun does not have a decocker, so I'm inclined to say no, there is not a way to do what you want to do. If I recall, that gun has a fairly long trigger pull which is basically the safety. I can't remember if it has a manual safety. I remember the guy at the gun show explaining that it would only function in DA mode after a misfire.

Thanks for the response...I appreciate it!!!

I don't have enough experience to compare the length of the trigger pull. Though, as SA it does seem to have a lengthy travel. But, again, I'm not one to trust on that.