Florida to Louisiana

ephi287

Good day all,

I was a resident of Florida with a Florida resident concealed carry permit. I since moved to Louisiana and established residency there. Can I continue to use my FL concealed permit as now a "non resident" of Florida?

Thanks,

In general when you establish residency in a different state you have to apply for licensure there, and meet their licensing requirements, whether driver’s, professional, or concealed carry . Many states will give you training credit for that you had in the other state or in the military for CC. You must have documentation.

Based on the Concealed Care Sources on this site more states recognize a Louisiana conceal carry license than recognize a Florida license. Florida recognizes a Louisiana concealed license.
Here is the general information link for here.
Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit Information

The Louisiana State Police issues the license.
Louisiana State Police - Concealed Handgun Permit Unit

It looks like you will have to have to be finger printed and go through a background and pass a proficiency test. They have to verify your identity. IDs can be faked.

and what if a person has never been fingerprinted before?

That is going to be up to the issuing agency, in this case Louisiana. I was fingerprinted as part of background checks at several commands over 25+ years. I had fingerprints done for Illinois CC, but they still wanted another set when I applied to volunteer at a local school. When I applied for Florida non-resident CC, I had to have another set done by my local police department which I had to mail to Florida. I think is to be sure of person's identity. Facial features change. Hair changes. Weight changes; although I am only 5 pounds above what I was when I first raised my right hand at GLakes in 1965. The face and hair did not do as well.

Last edited: