AK-47 Noob

Pele

VA State CCW Holder!
I'm totally new to the gun scene in general, but I'm interested in the AK-47.

I'm interested mainly because it's got the reputation for being tough, reliable, and rather inexpensive as compared to other assault rifles.

It seems that I might need to step up this interest because of the threat of them disappearing with the incoming leadership.

Saying one is searching for an AK-47 is kinda like saying I'm going to buy a large truck.

How large of a truck? 1/2 ton, 3/4 ton, 1 ton?
Made by who? Ford? Dodge? Toyota?
Diesel? Stick Shift? 4wd?

It seems as though there are just as many variations on the AK.

Origin Country? Hungarian, Bulgarian, Chinese, Soviet...
Caliber? 5.45 X 39, 7.62 X 39
etc etc etc...

I'm wondering if there's any collection of info that's available all in one place so that I have a one stop place to compare...

Are parts interchangeable between one country's AK and another? Can I swap out barrels if I want to try the larger caliber? Who's AK has the latest advancements and which one is more rugged or dependable? What'm I gonna spend on different types?

Maybe a collector's site or something?

I've never even shot one, so I don't know if I'll even like it. I don't know of any place around here that'll rent me one to try out.

I'm totally new to the gun scene in general, but I'm interested in the AK-47.

I'm interested mainly because it's got the reputation for being tough, reliable, and rather inexpensive as compared to other assault rifles.

It seems that I might need to step up this interest because of the threat of them disappearing with the incoming leadership.

It seems as though there are just as many variations on the AK.

Origin Country? Hungarian, Bulgarian, Chinese, Soviet...

You'll get a large variety of answers on that one.

Caliber? 5.45 X 39, 7.62 X 39