Need advice traveling to South Carolina

gr9819

Hi, I am new to the board and need some advice. I have searched online and cant find the answer. My question: I am a Virginia resident and DO NOT have a concealed carry permit. I will be traveling via car to South Carolina and want to take my handgun. Do I need anything special to travel in South Carolina with the handgun in the car/trunk?

Thanks for any help.

Robert

Hello and welcome! I'm not sure about Virginia and North Carolina, which probably will be the states you are traveling through to get to South Carolina, but I live here in South Carolina and you can legally carry a loaded handgun in the glovebox or center console as long as the center console has a latching cover on it. Hope this helps.
WULFPAC

Hi, I am new to the board and need some advice. I have searched online and cant find the answer. My question: I am a Virginia resident and DO NOT have a concealed carry permit. I will be traveling via car to South Carolina and want to take my handgun. Do I need anything special to travel in South Carolina with the handgun in the car/trunk?

Thanks for any help.

Robert

IF you have NO permit, you would have to leave it in your console, gole box.

We have no open carry policy at this time...

SC it is legal to be loaded and unloacked as long as it is in you glove box, console, trunk, or other container

Last edited:
Also, keep in mind it is legal to carry the handgun concealed to or from your vehicle to your 'residence' this includes a hotel or other place you are staying while here and of course it is legal to have and carry that same gun in that 'residence.' Now, if you are staying with friends you do have to have their permission to have the gun in their house.