Newbie to ccw. What to carry?

Free2roam

I'm looking to be certified in the fall some time. I have been comparing guns for awhile now and it's very difficult to choose not having fired many different types, nor actually carried on person. Also not having the money to just buy anything. I currently own a s&w sigma 9 mm. It seems a bit bulky to carry in the summer time. Any educated suggestions?

9mm
Summer carry
Been in production for 1+ years
$450

Listen, I am no expert, but I have been carrying since October 2010. I can tell you that "what to carry" is as unique to each person as their choice in underwear.

For example, I carry a Glock 17 Gen 4, a Taurus PT111, and a Kel-Tec PF-9. Each of these firearms are carried when a clothing situation is dictated.

When I have winter attire, no question it's the Glock. When I have jeans and a tshirt, I carry the PT111. When I have shorts, I carry the PF-9. But that isn't always the case.

Where you go, what you do, what type of exposure you are comfortable in showing (or as your state laws allow) will dictate what you wear and what you carry.

Some times I have the Glock in the truck in a lockbox, while I carry 1 or both of the other 2.

As for which firearm suits you, you need to find a range that rents the types of firearms you want to research or own.

That is the best way to determine what you like, and what you are comfortable carrying in Condition #1.

(A loaded magazine, with a round in the chamber, ready to go)

Since you expressed a budget concern, if you have friends who shoot/own/carry the firearms you're most interested in, ask them if they'd go to the range with you to shoot.

I have to agree with remotecoder. I don't have the choices of firearms that he has but if you got it, flaunt it.
I carry a Ruger SR9 but once I get the funds I would like to buy an SR9c for easier conceal-ability in the summer.