CC to & from workplace and public transportation

mtallit

Sorry for a lengthy intro but hopefully this will focus the discussion... I have read that in most states with CC it is legal to keep your firearm in your car on your employer's property (parking lot) even though the employer bans weapons from their property. I'm assuming this is because your car is your personal property AND if you could not keep it in your car that your employer would essentially be denying your 2nd amendment rights during transportation to & from work.

Okay, keep that second part of the last sentence in mind while you ponder my situation. I live and work in Chicago, IL. The SAF lawsuit challenging Illinois' ban on CC had oral arguments last Thursday and from what I've read an opinion could be issued this week. Despite the abundance of liberal activist judges in this area, if the district judge rules based upon the appealed Chicago gun range lawsuit decision (as they should - granted I'm not a lawyer but seems like a slam dunk win for us) then the ban is removed. Should this happen and injunct the current ban without any current carry legislation on the books, I will want to carry immediately... obviously taking into account legal guidance from NRA, SAF and Illinois State Rifle Assoc.

Here's the twist... Chicago is somewhat unique compared to gun friendly cities / states in that we have a well established public transportation system. We have the famous "EL" trains, metra trains (suburbs to city) and a great bus system (within city & between suburbs). As a result, most people who work downtown take some sort of public transportation or live close enough to walk to work. I either walk 15 min to work or take a bus depending on my mood or weather.