Gun for home protection - need opinions

carajul

Last night at 2am someone tried breaking into my house (unsuccessfully) and also my car (successfully). I live alone and this is enough. I want to buy a hand gun and keep it by my bed. What type of hand gun would best serve this purpose and what is the best place to buy one?

I live in a nice middle class area but recently there have been burglaries.

Last edited:
This is just my opinion and I hope you'll get many to help you make your decision. First there is no best handgun, but there is a best handgun for you. Depends on your physical attributes (big, small), experience, and comfort zone with what you might have to do. I am a medium build male who has been around firearms all my life. I started shooting with my father and uncles at the age of 12 and have good self discipline developed through the military. I have been through several training classes for handguns including CCW and constantly go to them to keep my skills fresh. This is not a commitment to be taken lightly. Best thing I'd advise is to go several different gunshops and look them over--beware if you are female as there is a lot of testosterone in the air as my wife says--find the one where you feel comfortable. Most places have rentals handguns and will provide an introductory lesson to renters. Try several different arms, ask lots of questions. Most shooters are more then happy to share their knowledge and skill. Also, there is a tremendous amount of info on the net, hope I've been of some assistance.

If you haven't already done so, take a course that covers the use of firearms for personal protection. You can't simply have a gun on your night stand for personal protection. There are various strategies and tactics that you will need to learn in order to prepare for possible situations you may encounter.

While taking a handgun class, you will have an opportunity to learn about the various handguns and which one may be best for you.