Okay, I'm ready to start!

When you really get into it you may want to buy in bulk instead of a box at a time. A good place to buy bulk bullets are gun shows so you don't have to pay a shipping charge. remember to get the brand and weight and put them on the scale to check the weight. Keep having fun.

Congratulations to Benzuncle. I am glad you had a good time and are getting the routine down. I have been loading for about 5 years now and I usually start in the middle of the load range as well. Better too light than too hot, but I have never had one fail to cycle. Keep loading and enjoy. It's almost as much fun as shooting the bullets isn't it? :D

Powder Scales

I cheat! I use a Lyman 1200-DPS3 powder scale. It's pricey but I have been reloading for over thirty years and decided to indulge myself. Using the auto repeat setting I weigh every charge. I still have the same press I started with, an RCBS Rock Chucker. I am going to wear it out before I stop reloading! I won't even try to guess at how many thousands of rounds I have loaded with it.
.300 Win Mag.
.30-06
.270 Win
.223 Rem (5.56 NATO)
7.62 X 39 Russian
.30 M1 Carbine
30/30 Win
7.62 X 54 Russian
7 X 57 MM Mauser
9 MM (9 X 19 Luger)
.40 S & W
.38 Special
.357 Mag.
.44 Mag.

Hey Mushroom. What brand of dies to you use for your 7.62x54r. I just got a Mosin m38 for Christmas and want some dies. I have always been very fond of Lee dies, but I have read of some people having issues with them in the 7.62x54r. Thanks

Hey Mushroom. What brand of dies to you use for your 7.62x54r. I just got a Mosin m38 for Christmas and want some dies. I have always been very fond of Lee dies, but I have read of some people having issues with them in the 7.62x54r. Thanks