Active Duty Military in Las Vegas

AFMike

Hello all,

As you can guess from the title of my thread, I'm an active duty military member and I will soon be stationed in Las Vegas. I'm coming back to the US from 2 years overseas, and I'm planning on getting a Nevada CCW permit. I've done some research from Luke's FAQ and I still have a few questions:

1. Does anyone know if active duty military personnel stationed in Nevada are considered in-state residents? My home of record is Georgia, but other states I have been in considered me a resident for certain things.

2. In the event that I'm considered a non-resident (which I'm kind of expecting), how much do the approved firearms training courses usually cost? I'll feel a little silly taking a basic course, considering that I was a deputy sheriff/certified peace officer in GA before I joined the military but I'll do what I have to in order to carry in Nevada.

3. My new colleagues at the base I'm coming to are suggesting that I live in North Las Vegas, because it is supposed to be relatively safe and convenient to work. After reading these and many other boards, I see that they have a poor attitude towards gun owners and some ridiculous ordnances that seem to be in violation of the new laws. Does anyone have any suggestions on decent areas of town outside the NLV jurisdiction?

Any information you might have would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Mike

NV residency and NLV

You are not considered to be a NV resident unless you have a NV DL and you have NV plates. As long as you keep your GA DL and have GA plates on your vehicle you're not a NV resident.

The FFL I deal with for my interstate transfers had a meeting with former Sheriff Keller on this issue. He was stationed at Nellis at the time as well and wasn't a NV resident at the time. Back before NV issued to non-residents you had to have a NV DL or full time ID to get a NV CFP. I believe he ended up surrendering his out of State license and got a NV DL.